Blend and Sip: Green Smoothies do a body good

Quick Tip: Green smoothies are made from real food ingredients, are chemically broken down for easier digestion, and make life just a little simpler when you want to include for vegetables and fruit in your diet.

One of my favorite go-to drinks to feel great is a green smoothie. I know this sounds pretty wild to most people and interest in drinking a green drink is often slim. But I encourage you to give one a try and see how you like it. Green smoothies are packed full of all the vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and fiber that you would get if you sat down and ate at least 4 servings of vegetables. Except it’s much easier to drink those wonderful vegetables than chew and digest them all. So the green smoothie enters your life!

I enjoy a green smoothie a few times a week to bump up my vegetable intake, give my body some great nutrients, increase my fiber for the day, get my digestive track on key, and enjoy the glowing effects it has on my skin. I’m going to include two green smoothies that I like and want you to try, at least just once. Most of the time, any great blender will work, but I use a Vitamix in my kitchen for my smoothies. Everything is included is completely liquified and well blended. I’ve heard positive reviews on the Ninja and NutriBullet from individuals that own those blenders.

Green Goodness

2 cups raw baby spinach

1 cup chopped kale

1 carrot

1 cup frozen peaches

Fill with water to your desired thickness. Blend. Sip. Enjoy.

This smoothie offers 3.5 servings of vegetables and 1 serving of fruit. Spinach offers your body vitamin C, vitamin K, beta-carotene (pro-vitamin that is converted to vitamin A in your body), folate, and phytonutrients/antioxidants. Quick lesson on phytonutrients: They are food components other than vitamins and minerals that promote human health by seeking out reactive oxygen species in your body, these are bad guys, and destroying them before they wreak havoc on your body. Kale also offers vitamin C, vitamin K, and beta-carotene and is excellent for detoxification while offering risk-lowering benefits for some cancers. Go ahead, add a little extra to your smoothie, if you like. Carrots are rich in carotenoids, a group of phytonutrients, and beta-carotene. And lastly, peaches also provide vitamin C, beta-carotene, and other still more phytonutrients.

Red Ranger

1 cup raw baby spinach

1 cup chopped kale

1/2 fresh lime (include some of the peel if you enjoy tart flavors)

1 cup frozen raspberries

Fill with water to your desired thickness. Blend. Sip. Enjoy.

We’ve covered the greatness of spinach and kale above. Limes offer your body vitamin C, phytonutrients, calcium and folate. Raspberries are yet another source of vitamin C and contain amazing antioxidant properties.

Do you see the trend in the above ingredients? I didn’t list all of the vitamins and minerals but just trust that you’re doing your body good by including these foods into your regime at least twice weekly. And take inventory of how many times I mentioned phytonutrients! These are what we need to prevent cancers and premature aging. So drink up! And if you don’t like my recipes, let me know and I’ll help you find just the right blend.

Leave a Reply

